Frequently Asked Questions

The Hawaii Marriage Equality Act FAQ list is posted at: http://governor.hawaii.gov/blog/marriage-in-hawaii/


Getting Married in Hawaii:

Facts About a License

Age -- The legal age to marry is 18 years for males and females.  However, with the written consent of both parents, legal guardian or family court, the male or female may be married at 16 or 17.  Males and females at age 15 may marry with the written consent of both parents or legal guardian and the written approval of the judge of the family court.  The parents or guardian do not have to reside in the state.  Consent forms may be obtained from the marriage license agent.

Proof of Age -- A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 and under.  For anyone 19 and over, proof of age may be requested in the form of an I.D. or driver's license.

Blood Relationship -- Cousins may marry, but a blood relationship between the prospective bride and groom cannot be closer than first cousins (for example: uncle-niece, half-brother-sister may not marry).

Blood tests Are not Required.



Some Items to Remember

  1. Both the prospective bride and groom must appear together in person before a marriage license agent to get a license.
  2. A marriage license expires 30 days from and including the date of issuance; it is good only in the State of Hawaii.
  3. Marriage performer must be licensed in the State of Hawaii to perform the marriage ceremony.



Commonly Asked Questions Regarding Declaring Middle & Last Names after Marriage

Q: Can a divorced woman who did not resume using her maiden or family surname declare it as a middle name in her next marriage?
A: YES. Her family or maiden name appears on her birth certificate, which is a legal document.


Q: Can one of the combination middle names or one of the combination surnames of a person be dropped when delaring a middle or last name? 
A: YES.


Q: Can a person drop an unwanted middle name by not declaring a middle or last name?
A: NO.  Unless the person or the spouse had no legally used middle name in the past or present.


Q: Can a middle name be used as a last name?
A: YES.


Q: Can the bride drop her previous husband's last name which formed a combination with her surname when she remarries?
A: YES. She can drop his last name and form a new combination made of her surname and new husband's last name.


Q: Can the bride and groom interchange their middle names as their declared middle name?
A: YES.


Q: Can diacritical marks (example ' or ^ or ") be added to middle or last names?
A: NO.  Only if shown on birth certificate as part of legal name.

Q: Can a person use a shortened version of a middle name, an initial, a nickname, or a name not on his/her birth certificate as his/her declared middle name?
A:  NO.  It constitutes a legal change of name.